Planning Commission

The Botetourt County Planning Commission is composed of five members who are appointed by the Board of Supervisors to represent their respective magisterial districts. The Commission makes recommendations on rezoning, text amendments, and special exception permit applications. The Board of Supervisors then makes the final decision regarding the Commission’s recommendations.

The Commission normally holds its regular meetings at 6:00 p.m. on the second Monday of the month at the Botetourt County Administration Center, 57 S. Center Drive, Daleville, VA 24083.


Amsterdam DistrictHiawatha Nicely
Term expires January 1, 2025
Blue Ridge DistrictSam Foster, Chairman
Term expires January 1, 2023
Buchanan DistrictSteve Kidd, Vice Chairman
Term expires January 1, 2022
Fincastle DistrictBrandon Nicely
Term expires January 1, 2022
Valley DistrictWilliam Thurman
Term expires January 1, 2022

Meeting Schedule

Physical distancing measures will be in place for all meetings. Anyone wishing to comment is encouraged to do so by clicking on this button.

  • April 12, 2021
  • May 10, 2021
  • June 14, 2021
  • July 12, 2021
  • August 9, 2021
  • September 13, 2021 (CANCELLED) The Planning Commission will not meet on Monday, September 13th, and no public hearings are scheduled for that evening.  The next meeting will be held Tuesday, October 12, 2021 at 6:00 PM at the Botetourt County Administration Center at Greenfield. A field review will not be held because the public hearing involves a Comprehensive Plan amendment. County offices will be closed on our regular meeting date in observance of the Columbus Day & Yorktown Victory Day holiday. If you have any questions, please contact Laura Goad at
  • October 12, 2021Pursuant to the provisions of Section 15.2-2204 of the Code of Virginia of 1950, as amended, the Botetourt County Planning Commission hereby gives notice of a public hearing to be held on Tuesday, October 12, 2021 at 6:00 P.M. in the Botetourt County Administration Center (formerly known as the Greenfield Education and Training Center) at 57 S. Center Drive, Daleville, Virginia to consider the request listed below. The Planning Commission will make a recommendation to the Board of Supervisors, which will make a final decision on the request. Information may be reviewed at the Community Development Planning & Zoning Office at 57 South Center Drive, in Daleville from 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m., Monday through Friday and is available online at Valley District: The Botetourt County Board of Supervisors have authorized the consideration of an amendment to the 2010 Comprehensive Plan’s Sewer & Water Infrastructure Map in accordance with Chapter 25, Zoning, Division 6. Special Development Approvals, Section 25-581.3 Comprehensive plan amendment-Owner initiated and Section 25-581.4 Comprehensive plan amendment and review. The Planning Commission will consider changes that would expand the Service Area shown on the Sewer and Water Infrastructure Map to allow for the extension of public sewer and water upon the affected properties in the vicinity of the portion of Sanderson Drive (SR605) south of Cypress Court and Industrial Drive (SR822). The request was initiated by Edward Martin on behalf of The New Beginnings Church at Cloverdale in support of a forthcoming rezoning request of 6.868 acres from the Residential (R-1) to the Residential (R-3) Use District, at 8277 Sanderson Drive, Cloverdale, VA and identified on the Real Property identification Maps of Botetourt County as Section 107, Parcel 5B. An exhibit map showing the proposed change is available online at or by contacting the Planning & Zoning Office.

Agendas, Minutes, and Documents

Name Last Modified
Name Last Modified
Planning Commission

No files found in this folder.

For more information, contact:

Laura Goad
Administrative Assistant
8:30 a.m. – 5:00 p.m
5 W. Main Street
Suite 100
Fincastle, VA 24090
P: (540) 928-2080
F: (540) 473-8018

 7,265 total views,  13 views today

Comments are closed.